Science Fitness
Follow us on Twitter Like us on Facebook

News from Science Fitness


RESULTS: Science Fitness Skipton Cycle Races

Scott Thwaites won the first ever Science Fitness Cycle Races on Thursday 2nd July.

In what was a thrilling three way sprint finish, Pete Williams came in second, followed closely by Tom Moses in a three-way sprint.

Organised and successfully run by Velo29 Events and Craven District Council, building on the legacy of the 2014 Tour de France, Science Fitness were involved as the headline sponsor of what proved to be a thrilling set of race.

Thwaites (who races for Bora), Williams (One Pro Cycling) and Moses (JLT Condor) are all training partners, which showed as they pulled away from the rest of the field early on, maintaining their distance and lapping the majority of the field twice. It added a certain amount of spice to the finale as they closed in on the finish line!

It was Thwaites who came out the victor (just) in an entertaining finish with Williams practically in touching distance as they crossed the finish line. Scott pulled on the Science Fitness winners’ jersey, presented by our very own Brand Manager David who was thrilled to share the podium with such great athletes.


Meanwhile, in the Under 16s Event, Jim Brown from Holmfirth Cycling club took top honours, with Alex Ridehalgh (Speedflex) and Jack Ford following to make the top three.

In the Under 14s Event, a podium of Joshua Greenwood (Kirklees Cycling Academy), Finlay Cooper-Oldroyd (Bradford Olympic) and Joe Wilson (Achieve Northside Skinnergate), with a top 3 girls finish of Ava Oxley, Sophie Thackaray and Lucy Horrocks, provided an exciting warm up to the main event.

Results in Full:


1 Scott Thwaites Bora Argon 18 2 Peter Williams One ProCycling 3 Thomas Moses JLT Condor 4 Peter Barusevicus 5 Alex Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Altura MGD 6 Ryan Perry SportGrub Kuota 7 Martinn Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle 8 Ben Rowe Achieve Northside Skinnergate 9 Mathew Kipling MTS Cycle Sport Scott RT 10 Ben Hetherington Achieve Northside Skinnergate 11 William Brown Achieve Northside Skinnergate 12 Alex Luhrs Achieve Northside Skinnergate 13 Edward McParland All Terrain Cycles 14 Tom Mazzone Polypipe Cycling Team 15 Mathew Wallis Velocity Globalbike 16 Stuart Reid Wheelbase Altura MGD 17 Ian Wilkinson Raleigh GAC 18 Jack Rees w121 19 David Clarke Giordana-Mitsbishi Electric RT 20 Robert Ormrod ilkley Cycling Club 21 Ashley Marshall achieve Northside Skinnergate 22 Joss Linsey 23 Oliver Payton Kuota – Spinergy – GSG 24 Sam Boast Wheelbase Altura MGD 25 Chris Palereeman 26 Lewis Growen 27 Billy Harding Paul Milnes – Bradford Olympic RC 28 Hamish Graham Green Jersey RT 29 Jay McCarthy Cycle Sport Pendle 30 Lee Brown 31 Martin Bulmer 32 Thomas Traviss-Pollard Polypipe Cycling Team 33 Thomas Bustard Giordana-Mitsbishi Electric RT 34 Harry Godding

UNDER 16 1 Jim Brown Holmfirth Cycling Club 2 Alex Ridehalgh Speedflex Race Team 3 Jack Ford 4 Alistair Leivers Blackpool Cycle Association 5 Will King Prologue Racing Team 6 Euan Cameron East Bradford CC 7 Nathan Hawthorn Cycle Sport Pendle 8 Jordan Reed Kirklees Cycling Academy 9 Halley Woods Inspire VCUK Racing Team 10 Lewis Martin 11 Croy Edmonson Cycle Sport Pendle 12 Mathew Dobbing Stockton Wheelers CC 13 Tyla Loftus Wheelbase Altura MGD 14 Robbie Pollard Otley CC 15 Harry Hunt otley CC 16 Joe Hawcroft Otley CC 17 Luke O’Connel East Bradford CC 18 Alasdair Lloyd Richmond Cycling Club 19 Laurence Solloway Skipton Cycling Club 20 Mathew Lister Skipton Cycling Club 21 Thomas Booth Skipton Cycling Club 22 James Robbins Skipton Cycling Club 23 Harrison Cooper-Oldroyd 3RT 24 Jamie Ridehalgh Speedflex Race Team

UNDER 14 1 Joshua Greenwood U14M Kirklees Cycling Academy 2 Finlay Cooper-Oldroyd U14M Paul Milnes – Bradford Olympic RC 3 Joe Wilson U14M Achieve Northside Skinnergate 4 Ava Oxley U16f 5 Sophie Thackray U16f Paul Milnes – Bradford Olympic RC 6 Lucy Horrocks U16f 7 Jonny Gill U14M Ilkley Cycling Club 8 Matthew Finegan U14M Cycle Sport Pendle 9 William Thackray U14M Paul Milnes – Bradford Olympic RC 10 Jack Lucas U14M Cycle Sport Pendle 11 Lewis Dobbing U14M Stockton Wheelers CC 12 Sam Jackson U14M Skipton Cycling Club 13 Joe Hudson U14M Skipton Cycling Club 14 Lewis Dollar 15 Grace Horrocks U16f 16 Rebecca Gregson U16f Sport City Velo 17 Charlie Paige 18 Kate Taylor U14f Cycle Sport Pendle 19 Charles Booth U14M Skipton Cycling Club 20 Jed Price 21 Michael Strange U14M Ilkley Cycling Club 22 Jasmine Pusey U14f Cycle Sport Pendle 23 Adam Fortune U14M Kirklees Cycling Academy 24 Thomas Booth U16m Skipton Cycling Club 25 Jim Brown U16m Holmfirth Cycling Club 26 Euan Cameron U16m East Bradford CC 27 Harrison Cooper-Oldroyd U16m 3RT 28 Mathew Dobbing U16m Stockton Wheelers CC 29 Croy Edmonson U16m Cycle Sport Pendle 30 Nathan Hawthorn U16m Cycle Sport Pendle 31 Joe Hawcroft U16m Otley CC 32 Harry Hunt U16m otley CC 33 Will King U16m Prologue Racing Team 34 Alistair Leivers U16m Blackpool Cycle Association 35 Mathew Lister U16m Skipton Cycling Club 36 Alasdair Lloyd U16m Richmond Cycling Club 37 Tyla Loftus U16m Wheelbase Altura MGD 38 Lewis Martin U16m 39 Luke O’Connel U16m East Bradford CC 40 Robbie Pollard U16m Otley CC 41 Jordan Reed U16m Kirklees Cycling Academy 42 Alex Ridehalgh U16m Speedflex Race Team 43 Jamie Ridehalgh U16m Speedflex Race Team 44 James Robbins U16m Skipton Cycling Club 45 Laurence Solloway U16m Skipton Cycling Club 46 Halley Woods U16m Inspire VCUK Racing Team 47 Jack Ford

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive special offers, discount codes and training and nutrition tips direct to your inbox